say yes to the dress?

so, for those of you who forgot, i’m getting married on may 26 of next year. matt and i have been engaged since august, and we have a lot of stuff done. place, dj, photographer, officiant, etc.

however, one thing i’ve been holding off on is the dress. on mother’s day, my mom, sister, aunt, grandma, and myself took my first adventure into dress shopping. we went to david’s bridal because it was the only place open on a sunday, even though i was already thinking i wouldn’t find anything there.

it was a seriously overwhelming experience. they definitely don’t show that part on TLC’s “say yes to the dress.” maybe they do, but i don’t watch that carefully. you see, i’m not a cookie cutter person. which means cookie cutter dresses don’t work for me. i tried on about 7 dresses, none of which impressed me. sure, they were gorgeous. but they overwhelmed my short stature, and were too “girly.” (note: my roommate in college and i would play games where we would try and figure out who was more girly. the goal was to score the least amount of points)

so, i haven’t been shopping since. i have been tearing out dresses from magazines, but don’t want to spend a zillion dollars but want something unique. my mom was talking to the woman who makes the skating dresses for our teams (del arbour — she is amazingly talented and does beautiful work) and told her that i am getting married, to which del responded, “oh my gosh! if i’d have known, i’d make her dress” (almost assuming i was already married or getting married next week). my mom told me and i got SO EXCITED at this prospect. so, we called her back the next day and my mom asked…

and del said YES to making my wedding dress 🙂 don’t worry though, i don’t think it will look like a skating dress (although my future father-in-law thought it would be cute if i got married in a skating dress) so, in some ways, i said yes to the dress. we are going up to her shop in CT in 2 weeks to sit down and design. which means i have to get to work figuring out what i want. that will be tough, because i am so indecisive. but, i’m so excited about having something personal and so special!

what would you want if you were getting a custom-made wedding dress? how would you go about designing it?

5 thoughts on “say yes to the dress?

  1. Yay! I tried on a few dresses and felt the same. Some of them were pretty, but not “the one.” There was one that I really fell in love with. I was looking at pictures of it again the other day and I think I’m going to end up buying it. I wasn’t impressed too much with the stuff I looked at online for David’s Bridal :0\ so I will probably just skip there. Where I’M having the trouble is the bridesmaids dresses!

  2. If I ever get married (lol) my mom will make my dress. I’m not sure what it will look like but since I’m VERY girly, I imagine it will reflect that.

Leave a Reply

